Visa and Other Progress

Consulat General de France

Consulat General de France

Last weekend, me and my mom drove down to Houston to get my visa at the Consulat General de France (see above image). It is rather annoying that I had to go in person for something that didn’t require me to actually do anything besides slide my application below a glass window, but that’s how it is now. I managed to get through the French bureaucracy and got my visa within 3 hours of first getting there (no small miracle). It was good preparation for the endless paperwork that I’m sure I will face in France. And if the paperwork isn’t just right or there aren’t the correct number of copies… oh la la.

I’ve found out that I will be teaching at three different schools, one in Valence and two in nearby towns. My contact in Valence said that their classes will have a focus on cinema, tv, comics, and drama, so that is exciting. I also know that I will be teaching 7 to 11 year olds. I still need to find a place to stay my first night in France, but besides that I have the rest figured out. Now I just have to figure out where to store all my things.

4 thoughts on “Visa and Other Progress

  1. Rachel K. says:

    I’m so excited for you!! And jealous ;) have a blast if you’re not already there!

  2. Cecilia says:

    How exciting! Remember that Niket wants your bookshelf, and I’ll gladly take a few books off of your hands. What other things do you need to store?

    Cinema? TV? That’s pretty awesome. If you’re free Sept 11-13 sometime, we’re going to the MoA to see Guillaume Canet’s TELL NO ONE.

  3. Allison says:

    I’m not there yet, Rachel! But I will be there in about three weeks.

    Cecilia: Niket can definitely have the bookshelves. I’m going to need to put some boxes in various places if you want to take one. I also have a wooden chair that I painted red a while ago and other random things. I would love for more places to store things! I think I would be available on Sept. 13 for the movie.

  4. Caitlin V. says:

    Have a wonderful time! I’m looking forward to reading your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

