Two Weeks

Homework

Homework

I’m two weeks from leaving for France and only have a week of work left at my full-time job. Right now, I’m listening to an episode of This American Life from 2006 about Americans living in Paris, which is inspiring both anxiety and excitement. I also continued my French series of Netflix movies with Le Samouraï last night. This last week of work will be crazy, as we’re hosting architectural photographer Julius Shulman and also opening an exhibition with a film by Philip Solomon and prints by Robert Rauschenberg.

I’m crossing more and more things off my to-do list, although I’m still overwhelmed by all the things I need to pack and store. If anyone is interested in taking a few things, please let me know. You can also borrow books if you like, but I may want them back.

I had an idea (which I still think is brilliant) for the three classes I will be teaching. I’m going to take a book of American Indian oral stories, as the language is simple and it relates to my homestate of Oklahoma. I also got some great Oklahoma tourism materials from Oklahoma Today (thanks Megan!). Beyond that, I have no teaching plan. Yikes.

5 thoughts on “Two Weeks

  1. Cecilia says:

    Are you going to cover only Oklahoma culture in your class? I think it would be funny if you discussed how Americans in general view French culture as being totally romantic, like in Amelie. You could show them movies and whatnot. It would be only fair since the Natural History Museum in Clermont said that Oklahomans pray all day. A cool project would be having the kids make little video vignettes explaining to Americans what a real day in a French kid’s life is like. They would be able to talk about what they know and practice English.

  2. Allie says:

    Like I said last night, you need to send me a lesson plan every week! I like this idea and I think I will steal it.

    I had forgotten about that part of the Oklahoma exhibit. That was so bizarre. Especially some of the taxidermy.

  3. Cecilia says:

    It’s totally yours. I’ll send my ideas your way as they come. Also, we’re going to get lunch together this week. I’ll call or facebook you!

  4. Allie says:

    Awesome. Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday are when I’ll be in town.

  5. Mary says:

    Bon voyage!

Leave a Reply

