Grenoble

I went to Grenoble with some other assistants this past weekend. It’s ridiculous how beautiful it is there with the Alps in the background and the river winding past. We rode the téléphérique (the ski lift type thing you can see in this picture) up to the old Bastille fortress and the view was spectacular. And I’ll admit it, in addition to Grenoble being lovely, it was nice to have a couple of days of English. Or at least French with other foreigners. I’m glad I’m getting so much language experience, but it’s really been showing the limits of my expression.

We mainly wandered around the city. I’d been to Grenoble a couple of years ago, and it seemed like a different city for some reason. I don’t know if it’s just the time that has passed or the people I was with or what. It was just a strange feeling. Neither good nor bad, just strange. I did realize I really need to buy a warm coat. I think this move to France was one of my worst packing jobs and I really should not have taken my warm sweaters out of my suitcase to make it less heavy. Oh well, they have stores here I guess.

Today I had my first experience leading classes. The first two were pointing at posters of colored shapes and asking “What colour is it?” (that u is important) and “What shape is it?” To which they would respond, “it’s green” or “it’s a triangle.” Or more frequently, “is it triangle.” The third class was more difficult, as it was their first day of English. Ever. After awkwardly starting with the classroom directions, the teacher pointed out I was using American phrases. (“Raise your hand” instead of “put up your hand.”)

I’m going to try to get more involved in what’s going around in Valence. I guess I shouldn’t feel too bad, I really haven’t been here that long and I’m still struggling to adjust to everything.

2 thoughts on “Grenoble

  1. Cecilia says:

    Gorgeous pictures!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Elephants!!! Approved! I wish I had the time/money to come and visit!

Leave a Reply

