Norman-Dallas-Bartlesville

Crimson flowers at the University of Oklahoma.

Crimson flowers at the University of Oklahoma.

My first days back in the States were spent in Norman with my brother, mostly readjusting to the time zone. I kept thinking that it felt like I hadn’t left. The weather was mild, about how it was when I left for France in September, and Norman looked the same. I kept seeing people that were in Norman when I was a student at OU. But I knew I’d been gone for months; I have the photos and blog entries to prove it. Even now, I feel like France was a dream.

Roadside Rooster.

Roadside Rooster.

At the end of the week, I drove down to Dallas for my friend Amanda’s wedding. On the way, I stopped at the Fried Pie Shoppe and saw the above rooster. I’d seen the fried pie sign many times, but had never stopped. Although guilt-inducing, the apricot pie I got was delicious.

The wedding was fun, and I stayed with my friend Elizabeth (who I’ll soon be living near in New York!). We also saw a firework show and symphony concert for Memorial Day.

Trash-eating buffalo.

Trash-eating buffalo.

After about a week in Dallas, I drove back to Norman, spent the night, and then drove to my hometown: Bartlesville. It was nice to finally not be sleeping on a couch or in a guest bedroom. And to finally unpack some clothes from boxes and wear something that I didn’t bring back from France. During my stay in Bartlesville, I visited Woolaroc with my mom (where you can feed trash to the taxidermy buffalo above).

Goat on a fence at Woolaroc.

Goat on a fence at Woolaroc.

Woolaroc was oilman Frank Phillip’s ranch, and now it’s an animal preserve with an American Indian art museum. I went there almost every week when I was a kid, so it was fun to go down memory lane. And also see the animals, like the above goat, who was jealous of the attention I was give to a baby Highland Cattle.

That’s a quick overview of quite a few days. But I must catch up before August 15. Because that’s the day I fly to New York!

Leave a Reply

