A Brand New Start of It

Shoes hanging on a telephone wire by the Russian Orthodox Church near my apartment.

Shoes hanging on a telephone wire by the Russian Orthodox Church near my apartment.

Despite what the lack of blogging might suggest, I did indeed make it to New York and am settled in my new apartment. I’m living in a charming little apartment near McCarren Park, which is populated day and night by soccer and football players and I can spy on a skateboard park from my window. I’m walking distance to the apparently trendy Bedford Avenue, which as far as I can tell is a long stretch of books, coffee, and people wearing thick glasses and skinny jeans. It’s been a little overwhelming and I’ve been so grateful that my amazing friend Elizabeth has been accompanying me around town and showing how this city connects together.

First NYC Space Invader sighting! In Brooklyn, on Beford Avenue.

First NYC Space Invader sighting! In Brooklyn, on Beford Avenue.

My cab driver from the airport had no clue where my street was, so I had to call my new roommate for directions while he yelled at people on the street. But I did make it and met Elizabeth at a coffee shop where I got a much needed iced coffee and vegan pastry. Then we moved my stuff into my apartment and made our way to her neighborhood, the East Village, and got falafel.

Flowers for sale in Brooklyn Heights.

Flowers for sale in Brooklyn Heights.

The next day, we explored Brooklyn Heights and DUMBO (another Brooklyn neighborhood), which were both lovely, and met up with Elizabeth’s friend Sally. Delicious melon Popsicles under the Brooklyn Bridge while exploring a flea market were involved. Oh, and the popsicles were discounted due to their being broken. Saving the pennies!

Waterpod docked in Brooklyn.

Waterpod docked in Brooklyn.

We also visited the Waterpod, which was stopped in Brooklyn and was docked on the river. It’s a floating eco-habitat and had plants and even some chickens, who didn’t seem bothered by the somewhat nauseating boat swaying. There were also gorgeous views of Manhattan from the boat. Which are obscured in this picture by my focus on the Waterpod. Sorry!

A skeleton flamingo stencil in my Brooklyn neighborhood.

A skeleton flamingo stencil in my Brooklyn neighborhood.

I’ve tried to do a lot of exploring and so far have visited just about every bookstore between Union Square and Astor Place. I kind of love Union Square. Yes, it’s over-crowded and gentrified, but there’s so much people watching! I saw a guy wearing a Boba Fett mask playing the accordion, a group of enthusiastic Hare Krishnas, a hula hoop contest, and bought delicious strawberry juice from the green market.

Deer and butterfly window display.

Deer and butterfly window display.

One night, we went to a curated cheese tasting by Liz Thorpe of Murray’s Cheese. I had no idea such amazing cheese was produced in the States. I guess I’m a French cheese snob after all. We also got bubble teas in the East Village, mine being a Lychee Nectar flavor.

Animal pillows at the Areaware Pop-Up Shop.

Animal pillows at the Areaware Pop-Up Shop.

Another evening we went to the Areaware Pop-Up Shop, which had free wine and art and objects from New York-based designers. I especially liked the above animal pillows and would be quite happy with any of them.

I feel like I’m leaving out a lot, but the past few days have been a blur. A very hot blur, I should add, because the humidity here is insane. And air conditioning is mediocre at best. We have a window unit and I bought a necessary fan, but it’s still hot. Oh well, fall is soon and winter will come after, and I’m much better with the cold than the heat. It can’t be colder than the top of the Alps, right? Well, I had a job interview yesterday at a musical theatre organization and I have one at an education nonprofit tomorrow, so I’m confident that a job is ahead.

4 thoughts on “A Brand New Start of It

  1. Jennie says:

    You make me miss NY so much!!! I’ve never had the opportunity to live there (just visited several times), but if I ever had to live in the US again, it would be NYC.

  2. Allie says:

    Are there any cool things you’ve done here I might have missed? I have plenty of exploring days ahead of me. Well, I miss France terribly. Winter won’t be the same with the Alps so far away.

  3. Jennie says:

    Hmm I can’t think of anything in particular since I was mostly visiting friends. I spent a lot of time at CBGB (RIP!) One of my friends still works at a nice Korean restaurant that was really good (Bann – 350 W 50th St). at least the Statue of Liberty is finally open again. I was never able to go there. :(

  4. Allie says:

    I’ll have to check out that Korean restaurant sometime. I’m overwhelmed by the food choices here, but at the same time miss the French bakeries. I guess I can’t have it all.

Leave a Reply

