The Ramble and Racquets

Bethesda Fountain in Central Park.

Bethesda Fountain in Central Park.

This week seemed calmer than the last, or I’m just getting more used to the crowds and constant activity. I had another job interview, which I think went really well and they already asked me to come back for a second interview next Monday. It seems like no matter where I work, I’m going to be next to Central Park. Which is perfectly fantastic for me. I recently discovered the gorgeous and shaded Ramble and the angel on the fountain at Bethesda Terrace.

Rowboats in Central Park.

Rowboats in Central Park.

While I have been working hard on the job search and my freelance work, I’ve made sure to see at least one new thing in the city a day, whether it’s in my Williamsburg, Brooklyn neighborhood or in Manhattan. With the somewhat cooler weather and still shining sun, I’ve really just wanted to read in the park. So I spent a couple of afternoons in Central Park with my eyes half on my book and half on the people. People watching and reading are right up there with writing on a list of my favorite activities and New York is offering me opportunities for all of them almost all the time. I thought I would be too busy to read, but there’s so much down time here waiting for the subway and on the subway and waiting for job interviews, that I’ve already finished two books. And I am not the only one. Almost everyone has a book on the subway, and not just a cheap page-turner. A short list of books I’ve seen being read includes: A Confederacy of Dunces, Leaves of Grass, Lolita, Catcher in the Rye, and Atlas Shrugged.

Strawberry Fields in Central Park.

Strawberry Fields in Central Park.

After my last post-job interview stroll through Central Park, I passed Strawberry Fields, the memorial to John Lennon. Roses are arranged in a peace sign over a mosaic that spells “Imagine” in its center. Someone was playing Lennon songs on a guitar and I sat among the people on the benches, listening. “Instant Karma” came up later in the day on my iPod while I was exiting the Bedford Station. There is something to say here that I can’t seem to find the words for. I guess that’s why music exists.

US Open in Bryant Park.

US Open in Bryant Park. Serena Williams is in purple on the court.

As it’s US Open time in NYC, there’s been some hype building around the city. This Wednesday, there was a free tennis demonstration in Bryant Park where Venus and Serena Williams, John McEnroe, James Blake, the Bryan brothers, the Jensen brothers, and Brad Gilbert played in mixed and singles matches against each other. I can’t afford to go to the actual matches, so this was a fun way to see some of the world’s best players. Especially when the highlight was a dance battle between the Williams sisters.

Leave a Reply

