Off to Texas

Robot with some other street art in SoHo.

Tomorrow, for the first time since I arrived in August, I will be leaving New York. I’m flying to San Antonio to celebrate Thanksgiving with my family and am looking forward to some warm Texas weather and a break from the subways and crowds. I’m a little nervous to be traveling from one of the busiest airports in the country on one of the busiest travel days of the year, but I’m charging my iPod and have a good book, so I’m ready. Speaking of books, I just finished reading Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol. I had no idea until I got to the last page that the book apparently ends mid-sentence, as Gogol destroyed the rest of it. It was kind of anticlimactic.

A mix of SoHo things: graffiti, old ads, and a copy of a Michaelangelo.

Last Saturday, Elizabeth and I attempted to watch the OU football game, but it was another depressing match and we didn’t make it all the way through. Instead, we walk to Union Square, where we had falafel and then bought delicious apple ciders from the green market. The market is almost entirely apples now, as there is not much else in the way of November produce. We then walked to SoHo and perused the stores, both thrift and fancy.

The Brooklyn Bridge, as seen from DUMBO.

On Sunday, I met up with Christina, who is from Denmark, but is doing a university project in New York. We walked around Williamsburg and got bagels and then got to train down to DUMBO. There is already a drastic temperature difference between the parts of Brooklyn near the wind off the harbor and those far from it. I don’t know if I would want to be anywhere near DUMBO in the cold of winter. But we’ve been having rather nice weather lately, so it wasn’t too bad.

Flea market in DUMBO.

We looked at an art book store; apparently nude male photography is really popular right now, as that was the subject of every other book. There was also an unsettling book of child beauty pageant participants. We also visited the green market and the flea market, going on beneath the Brooklyn Bridge.

Pizza oven at the flea market in DUMBO.

All the food at the flea market was tempting, but we decided to try the Salvadorean pupusas. We shared an order with one that was spinach and cheese and the other which was zucchini, served with cream and chilies. They were absolutely amazing, and we ate them with a view of the sun setting next to the Statue of Liberty.

I’ll be posting of Texas adventures soon. Happy Thanksgiving!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

