So This Is Christmas

Living Objects installation in McCarren Park.

I’m currently keeping myself awake until a car comes to pick me up for the airport at 3 am. My flight to Oklahoma City is at 6 am, so I’m passing a “nuit blanche” to keep from accidentally missing it. As you may have seen on the news, New York City got blanketed with snow this weekend and I’m hoping enough has melted to not delay my flight.

This past week was pretty busy, as I was at the very important film studio this working as their temporary receptionist. I was charged with the very important tasks of answering the phone, signing for packages, keeping the coffee machine stocked, and avoiding eye contact with the very important film producers. Luckily, my unimportance made me invisible, a superpower granted to all temps. Mostly, I just had to sit at a desk, not having to do much more than the light people pictured above, who are currently installed in McCarren Park in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Christmas tree at the Rockefeller Center ice skating rink.

I must have delivered at least one bottle a day of Cristal champagne to people’s desks at the temp job, along with bountiful food gift baskets and numerous boxes marked with “perishable.” Well, I worked some holiday cheer of my own into my temporary professional life, including a visit to the Christmas tree at Rockefeller Center. That place is CRAZY right now. It was more crowded than Times Square. However, it was still worth it and we saw the Saks snowflake display synchronized to an electronic remix of Carol of the Bells. An NYPD officer even danced along to it as he directed traffic.

An Edward Scissorhands-style topiary at the MoMa as part of the Tim Burton exhibit.

We also stopped by the free Friday hours at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), hoping to see the Tim Burton exhibit. Unfortunately, tickets were already sold out, but we still got to see this Edward Scissorhands-esque topiary in the courtyard. Don’t worry, I’ll be back to see it.

Gabriel Orozco’s “Mobile Matrix” whale skeleton at the MoMa.

The MoMa is also showing an exhibit of Mexican artist Gabriel Orozco’s work, which includes “Mobile Matrix,” the giant, decorated whale skeleton shown above. We checked out the Bauhaus exhibit and some of the permanent collections as well, but the whale was the highlight for me.

Alice in Wonderland-style shenanigans at the holiday window displays at Bergdorf Goodman.

We also checked out some holiday window displays. While Saks and Juicy Couture win for most unsettling, with maniacal snowflakes and circus insanity, Bergdorf Goodman won for entertainment, creativity, and detail. For the women’s store, they had Lewis Carroll-inspired displays with taxidermy animals and high fashion. This picture of a squirrel on a bicycle is only an example.

Bears at Bergdorf Goodman.

There were also dancing bears holding canes, as well as ostriches playing bagpipes, ravens typing, cats lurking around corners, and prancing horses made from plants.

Fantastic Mr. Fox at Bergdorf Goodman.

At the men’s store, the windows had the miniature characters from the Fantastic Mr. Fox movie, which I still haven’t got around to seeing. The little characters are adorable, even if they look a little bit like taxidermies of dead animals, maybe caused by them being across the street from the real taxidermies in the other windows. I’ll have to see the movie to judge if that makes it creepy.

I guess I’m just an hour and a half from my trip to the airport. I’ll be in the Oklahoma City soon and am looking forward to warmer weather and seeing friends and family. Good luck to my fellow holiday travelers!

Leave a Reply

