Finally

Water towers seen from my new office window.

I’m very pleased to announce that I am employed! Or at least until June. I got a long-term temp position at the Cooper Union in the East Village, so I will be working full-time there for five months. I was too nervous to post about it before it actually happened. Up until I got the badge with my picture on it, I was still afraid that some disaster would occur to return me to unemployment. But I just finished my third day there and I think things are going well. Above is the view from my office window. It’s such a relief to not have to apply for five jobs a day and stress over how many more months I can live on my savings. Plus, it’s an easy commute and most of my work involves writing, editing, and web management, which are things I have experience in and actually enjoy. A cause for celebration!

Mud Coffee=morning battery.

Also exciting is the Mud Coffee Truck that I pass in Astor Place on my way to work. They have excellent coffee that’s as dark as their name suggests, and it’s cheaper than the Starbucks across the street. A coffee this size lasts me all day. That, along with my iPod Octavius who is making a cameo in the background of the photograph, make my mornings enjoyable. And speaking of music, I added a tiny little section on the left-hand side of this blog called “Earbud Obsession” where I am going to post the current song I’m fixating on. Right now, it’s Brooklyn-based Ravens & Chimes’ song “January” which I can’t get out of my head.

Inside the Cooper Union clock.

I also got to see the inside of the Cooper Union clock that faces Cooper Square. It was unfortunately a little slow in its accuracy, but I was excited to see its gears slowly turning as it moved the giant clock hands outside. There was also an odd circular elevator in the building. I guess Peter Cooper thought that elevators were going to be circular when the shaft was added to the building, and then they turned out to be rectangular.

Mosaic in the Williamsburgh Savings Bank.

Besides that new development, I’ve been taking it easy while I adjust to a new schedule. Last Saturday we revisited the Brooklyn Flea in the Williamsburg Savings Bank Tower, and this time I took a picture of the huge mosaic in the main hall. I also got a Gruyere and paprika pretzel.

Man holding a crab in the Williamsburgh Savings Bank. You know, some zodiac thing.

There was a little bit of snow Wednesday morning (which you can see on top of the water towers in the first picture) and I hear we’re going to get even more this weekend. I love the snow, especially now that I live in New York and don’t have to drive. Although I’m not a huge fan of freezing temperatures, except as an excuse to drink hot toddies and wear colorful scarves. And now that I’m employed, I can afford a few more of both of those.

4 thoughts on “Finally

  1. Terri says:

    Congratulations, Allie! I’m so happy for you. I enjoy hearing about your adventures in NYC!

  2. Mary says:

    Congratulations!

  3. Kat says:

    Cheers to the new job! So happy that you’re able to do something you love. I’d say that you deserve to treat yourself to something nice :-) I’ll trade you a pomegranate cupcake for a Gruyere and paprika pretzel?

  4. Allie says:

    Thanks everyone!! Kat, please air mail that pomegranate cupcake immediately. Too bad 3D printers don’t exist for food. Or maybe that’s for the best or I would just eat too many pain au chocolats.

Leave a Reply

