The theme of this party’s the industrial age, and you came in dressed like a train wreck

Night on my street.

What a long work day. I’m recovering with Brooklyn Lager and Twister on TBS. I never get tired of tornadoes and crazy Oklahoman characters. I spent all day at a reunion for people who graduated 50 years ago. It’s kind of crazy to think that my parents were under 10-years-old when these people got their degrees. I got to hear a lot about the way things used to be, mainly about the shadiness of the Bowery, one of them saying it was the “last stop” on the road of poverty and talking about how people would come out of the shadows with knives. Yikes.

I took it easy this week, needing a rest after these past couple of weeks. On Wednesday, we used the Mexican victory over the French as an excuse to drink margaritas and eat burritos. It was a wonderful night, which concluded with impulse purchase cupcakes.

I’m reading Oracle Night by Paul Auster right now (I know, I’m reading like his whole catalog in the course of a few months, I’m just obsessed with his writing). I love that nearly all of Auster’s characters are writers, always struggling, of course. Although is any writer not struggling? Is there anyone who just sits down each day after work and drills out sentences without hesitation in between sips of bottled water?

Well, speaking of literature and writing, I’m starting to do some literary travel blogging for Atlas Obscura. You can read the introductory post here. More to come!

Okay, the tornadoes are about to blow away that  drive-in theatre. Wait, Philip Seymour Hoffman is in this movie??? And he’s wearing an OU hat??? And even more incredibly, Wakita apparently has a Twister Museum in honor of their claim to fame of being destroyed by digital cyclones. I need another beer.

Leave a Reply

