Kansas, Where Everything is Up to Date

I just got off a plane and took a ridiculously expensive cab to my hotel, but I thought I would make a quick post to say that I’m in Kansas through Thursday, and then will then be in Oklahoma through Tuesday. The flights were uneventful, the airport bagel passable, the apparel and footwear of fellow travelers incomprehensible. Surely there is something between platform heels and worn out flip flops. Do you really want to walk barefoot through security? How can someone fall asleep and start snoring before the plane even takes off? Why does self check-in not seem to shorten the baggage drop line at all? I did like seeing the great lakes from the window and the clouds were mesmerizing. From Chicago to Kansas City, the setting sun created a rainbow of colors that edged around the whole horizon.

All I’ve seen in Kansas City so far are the lights of chain restaurants…so many I had forgotten. I can see a JCPenney from my hotel window. So glamorous. I don’t know if I’ll have any adventuring opportunities, as this is a “business trip,” but we shall see.

4 thoughts on “Kansas, Where Everything is Up to Date

  1. Emma says:

    I just want to say that being able to fall asleep before the plane takes off is a great gift- I have trained myself to do it and highly recommend it. Hopefully there has never been too much snoring involved.

  2. Kat says:

    this looks like Mars.

  3. Randall says:

    Usually I fall asleep before take off as well, because I try to wear myself out before any and all flights. But I don’t think I’ve ever started snoring!

  4. Allie says:

    Apparently I am the only one who hasn’t mastered this pre-take off sleeping! Actually, I rarely sleep at all on the plane, making me edgy in whatever new place I arrive in. I even had endless free red wine on a British Airways flight once and still couldn’t sleep.

    Kat: Oklahoma was used as the Martian landscape in the Flaming Lips’ Christmas on Mars: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J65u67o6AuY

Leave a Reply

