Kansas City

View from my hotel window.

At the end of July, I went on a short business trip to Kansas City (the first business trip I’ve ever been sent on, actually). The trip itself wasn’t too thrilling; I spent most of it in front of a computer. Nevertheless, it was wonderful to get out of New York for a little while, especially when it has been so hot lately. What a luxury to stay my own hotel room with two beds and a strong air conditioner! I usually stay in eight bed hostel rooms while traveling. Eating out in restaurants is also something of a novelty these days (I’ve been pretty much living on hummus sandwiches and smoothies this summer).

Fountain in Kansas City.

I flew out of LaGuardia on a Tuesday afternoon and got into Kansas City rather late at night. The flight was easy and I had a quick layover in Chicago, but once I got to Kansas City I had to take an hour long taxi ride to the suburb where we were staying. I’ve never realized that it’s kind of lonely and scary to fly into a middle America airport where everyone is being whisked away in cars and to have to try to find a ride in a city where public transportation doesn’t exist. Well, I made it.

Fountain in Kansas City. Note the glamorous boutique fashion store behind it.

Thanks to being from Oklahoma, I had this song stuck in my head the whole time I was there. By the way, people from New York don’t get references to that AT ALL.

Did you know that Kansas City is the “City of Fountains”? It has over 200 fountains, claiming to be just behind Rome (although I bet fewer have drinkable water). Apparently it also takes the nickname of “Paris of the Plains” due to its many boulevards. Well….everything was pretty up to date. I’d actually been to Kansas City before and really enjoyed the art museums, but there was no time for that on this trip. We did make it over to the Plaza, where I took these fountain pictures.

Night on the Plaza.

I still can’t figure out why people from the Northeast would refer to Kansas as being part of the South, which my coworkers did, multiple times. I don’t consider Oklahoma to be in the South either. I mean, south of New York? Yes. But so is Pennsylvania. Anyway, I won’t go on that well-worn rant.

At the end of my business trip, my mom and brother drove up to Kansas City and then we all drove back to Oklahoma. I’ll post about that soon!

This past Sunday marked my one year anniversary in New York!!!!! Unbelievable! I made it! Check out my flickr set of my first year in the city to see all the things I did from August 15, 2009 to August 14, 2010.

One thought on “Kansas City

  1. Emma says:

    I know that song! You must not know enough musical theater nerds in NYC. CJ and I went to see OKLAHOMA when it was last on Broadway. He almost bought a tshirt that said, “I’m just a girl who can’t say no.” Big missed opportunity.

Leave a Reply

