One-Year Anniversary Adventure :: Little Red Lighthouse

Little Red Lighthouse

The last stop on my one-year anniversary adventure was the Little Red Lighthouse on the Hudson River. The adorable lighthouse is 40 feet tall, and seems even smaller under the massive Washington Bridge. This lighthouse was built in 1880, but moved and reconstructed at its current location in 1921. It was decommissioned in 1947 and almost sold for scrap metal. Lucky for the lighthouse, it is the star of the popular children’s book The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Grey Bridge, and its fans saved it from destruction.

A dramatic photograph of me at the lighthouse

We had a picnic at the base of the lighthouse and enjoyed the view of the river. Apparently there are a few other lighthouses in the NYC area, including one on Roosevelt Island, one at Coney Island, and quite a few on Staten Island. An adventure to see some of these lighthouses is currently being planned.

Washington Heights with a view to the Washington Bridge

So that is the conclusion of my one-year anniversary adventure! It was quite an epic day, and a great start to what I hope is another year of wonderful adventuring. The heat has been slowing me down, but with the coming of fall I expect I will be out seeing more of the city.

Also, I am happy to announce that I am now a full-time employee! No more temping! This means I have a real salary with benefits.

Earlier this week, I celebrated a friend’s birthday at Balthazar, a decadent French restaurant. Otherwise, I mainly met up with people for drinks or coffee. This evening I will be celebrating another wonderful event, the return of Oklahoma football. If college football also interests you, then read up on some random football trivia to impress your friends with this guide I wrote. Boomer Sooner!

One thought on “One-Year Anniversary Adventure :: Little Red Lighthouse

  1. […] may remember I visited the Little Red Lighthouse on my one-year anniversary in New York last year. The 40-foot-tall red lighthouse is on the shore of […]

Leave a Reply

