Sukkah City

I often use my lunch break to take a walk down to Union Square (yes, that’s a forced Velvet Underground reference), usually finding the Greenmarket or sporadic street performers (using that term loosely, I guess that makes us all performance artists in a way). This Monday I found a collection of temporary structures set up around the southern side.

It turned out that it was a two-day installation called “Sukkah City.” Perhaps this is common knowledge, but I’m going to fall on my “I’m just from a small town in Oklahoma” ignorance because I did not know what a sukkah was. It turns out that they are temporary structures created for the week-long Jewish festival Sukkot, that mimic those that were built while the Jews were in exile from Egypt. One requirement for the structure (in addition to being temporary) is that it must be open to the night sky.

There were 12 different sukkah dwellings (although I feel like I didn’t see that many), each a modern interpretation by architects and designers. The one above was created from signs bought from homeless people. Not sure why it is shaped like a sandcrawler.

Here are some of the signs up close.

This one looked a little like an open chestnut. I guess it is chestnut season. They would love this in Privas.

And this had a log levitating on glass over a lit candle. I’m sure the symbolism is deep, but lost on me. Nature transcending modernity? Hey, at least I’m trying.

Anyway, always nice to stumble upon art. And as you can tell, it was a beautiful day. Fall is finally here, and my enemy summer seems to be retreating, like George Washington into Manhattan, to reference a previous post. Tonight we had a thunderstorm and I saw lightning over the harbor from my window. There was a bit of a tornado last week, something tame like an F1, if that. But for a moment the sky turned green, hail fell to the streets, and the wind picked up just like it does back in my Oklahoma small town.

One thought on “Sukkah City

  1. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your
    website, how could i subscribe for a weblog web site?
    The account helped me a appropriate deal. I have been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast
    provided brilliant transparent concept

Leave a Reply

