Halloween Day 3: World/Inferno Friendship Society and Parade

Ghost at the World/Inferno Friendship Society Concert.

And now over a month (really?!) later, Day 3 of Halloween! Here are the posts for Day 1 and Day 2, in case you missed them. As you may guess from Halloween Day 2, I didn’t wake up too early on Day 3. Although I guess you could say I was already awake that morning, and then slept a few hours until early afternoon.  Then I took the train up to the Brooklyn Bowl in Williamsburg for the annual Hallowmas concert, put on by the World/Inferno Friendship Society. Now, I’m not exactly an expert on their music, but had a few songs on my iPod and had heard that their Halloween shows were awesome. The band is from Brooklyn and I’d call their music a sort of punk cabaret, with a whole orchestra of instruments on stage, including saxophones in addition to the guitars and drums, all led by the charismatic Jack Terricloth. I didn’t know what to expect, but I certainly wasn’t ready for how insanely enthusiastic the crowd was. Just watch how the show started:

Yeah, how long has it been since I was at a concert with moshing and crowd surfing? I felt old. And we were some of the few people who didn’t seem to know all the words to all the songs. But that’s okay, I love a band with a cult! And it was great fun. Everyone was in costume, and I had cobbled together a time traveler costume from my closet, with a Victorian dress, 80s jacket, multiple watches and pocket watch necklace, and some hipster sunglasses since I was in Williamsburg for the day. There were also giant puppets on the stage for a couple of songs, including the above ghost and a cat for one of the few songs I knew going in, “Cats Are Not Lucky Creatures”:

The concert ended with their performance of “Pumpkin Time,” which is apparently only played at Hallowmas (this year with aerial performers). I missed the memo about bringing a tiny pumpkin to hold up at the concert, but as Jack Terricloth said, “if you don’t have a pumpkin in your hand, have a pumpkin in your heart.”

Halloween Parade in the Village.

From Williamsburg, I went to the Greenwich Village Halloween Parade. Anyone who wants to can walk in the parade, although the crowd was just as good as any costumed people who went by. It was rather cold, but we found a good vantage point and watched ghostbusters and ghosts move past. If you want to see some of the creative costumes, check out all these photos on Brooklyn Vegan.

 

Sadly, Halloween was over after the parade, and I definitely suffered from some post-Halloween depression afterward, much as some people do after Christmas. Oh well, it will come again next year! Until then, I will keep the pumpkin alive in my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

