Suddenly Everything Has Changed

REAL at the OU art school

Just a quick post to say I’m back in New York after a long holiday in Oklahoma. It is always strange to come back to the city, wondering if I’m exactly the person who has left. I’ve moved into the larger room of my apartment (I’ll take pictures when it isn’t a disaster) and now hear the street noises, voices. I’ve listened to the Flaming Lips’ “Suddenly Everything Has Changed” so many times today I’ve lost count. Sometimes it just happens that a song is exactly what I am feeling and I can’t listen to anything else. They played it at the New Year’s Eve concert and it was beautiful (watch the video below). It’s a song I used to sometimes skip over on The Soft Bulletin, but now…things have changed. The lyrics are devastatingly simple, about how while doing the most mundane tasks you can suddenly have a realization about life, and the future of death, about the distance between you and the person you were when you were younger. I feel like I’ve been halfway through a metamorphosis for the past three years. Not who I was when I graduated, but not who I want to be yet either.  I will just let Wayne Coyne say it:

Putting all the clothes you’ve washed away
And as you’re folding up the shirts you hesitate
Then it goes fast
You think of the past
And suddenly everything has changed

I have great hopes for 2011.

One thought on “Suddenly Everything Has Changed

  1. m says:

    that has always been one of my favorite songs.

Leave a Reply

