Other Lives/Ravens & Chimes at Mercury Lounge

Of all the bands I used to see back in Oklahoma, I’m not at all surprised that Kunek, now known as Other Lives, are the ones I would find playing to a packed crowd in New York. The Stillwater-band was always so incredibly meticulous with their orchestral sound. They played mostly songs from their new record, Tamer Animals, at this Tuesday’s show at the Mercury Lounge. I’d missed their self-titled album since the name change (and I guess my skepticism about that name switch being a mistake were wrong), but they seemed to have a similar lineup and the same ethereal, layered music. I forgot my camera and my dear iPhone died, so enjoy the above video someone posted on YouTube instead. Also, definitely stream the new album, it’s gorgeous. Crazy enough, it seems they’ve been opening for bands like the Decemberists and the National lately. Go Okies!

To make this lovely concert even better, Ravens & Chimes, who I’d previously seen open for Voxtrot, were first to play. (They also made it onto my list of favorite songs from 2010.) Their music is a little more vocal driven than Other Lives’, but equally attentive to beautiful instrumentation. Check out their music video for “Division Street”:

2 thoughts on “Other Lives/Ravens & Chimes at Mercury Lounge

  1. […] lyrics. (And has an unsettling music video to go with it.) I saw them perform earlier this year at a packed Mercury Lounge and the songs had the whole place in a […]

  2. […] lyrics. (And has an unsettling music video to go with it.) I saw them perform earlier this year at a packed Mercury Lounge and the songs had the whole place in a trance. Download (right […]

Leave a Reply

