Coney Island in the Off-Season

I have a confession to make: I’ve never been to Coney Island in the height of summer, when crowds swarm the sunny boardwalk and beach. All my visits have been in winter, when most everything is closed and the rides are still. This is partly because I hate the heat, but mostly because I love how weird Coney Island is when the actual amusement park is shut down. It makes it so much stranger, makes it more like I’m traveling to another time and place when I get off the train.

Recently, friends Bron and Mark were visiting from Melbourne and we went on a photography adventure to Coney Island. Here are some of my photos:

Leave a Reply

