Summer is Here, So is Governors Island

While winter lingered for a few extra weeks and I again and again found myself bringing my coat back out from storage, summer has definitely arrived. We had our first days of that simmering, sweltering heat of New York summers that make you long for frigid days of February. Luckily, there are beautiful perks to summers in the city, including free ferries to Governors Island, the decommissioned military base in the harbor that is now a public park. It opened for the season this past Memorial Day weekend, and as my cousin Meghan is in town we made a visit and I thought I would share a few photos. Don’t worry, I wore SPF 100 on my  pallid skin.

Bike paths circle the island. Perhaps one day when I am more ambitious I will ride over to the ferry that leaves from Brooklyn and make the loop. There are also plenty of rentals on the island if I am feeling half lazy.

There is an especially tranquil space of green in the center of the island, where there are currently sculptures by Mark di Suvero, playing their metal angles against those of the Manhattan skyline. There was also a very busy ice cream truck nearby.

The ferry ride to the island itself is fun, as you speed away from the island of cluttered buildings to that of a quiet, tree-crowded town. I liked this view from the ferry where it appears that the Staten Island ferry is racing an old schooner.

Here is another view from the ferry. While there are free ferries from Brooklyn and Manhattan, I would also recommend the East River Ferry, which costs $4 but had no line. You can also then ride all the way up to Williamsburg, Greenpoint, or Long Island City, where you can refresh your sun dappled mind with an iced coffee.

2 thoughts on “Summer is Here, So is Governors Island

  1. deliriumdog says:

    That first shot looks like a painting.

  2. Allie says:

    A little Seurat happening there, right?

Leave a Reply

