London Day 6: Thames and Borough Market

I started my sixth day in London with another walk along the Thames, this time on the South Bank. Above is the HMS Belfast, a Royal Navy cruiser that served in World War II and is now a museum. We didn’t make it inside this trip, but perhaps the next, as I do love old nautical spaces.

The shores of the Thames below the containing walls of the city are not exactly appealing, but I don’t think many people think to swim in the waters.

There were actually some kayakers that morning, and we saw them land on the beach by the Tower Of London, right by the Traitors’ Gate. Although it’s now bricked off, prisoners were once brought through the gate to the Tower, including Sir Thomas More and Anne Boleyn, after being transported by boat below London Bridge where the heads of executed prisoners were displayed on pikes.

Tower Bridge is the opposite of ominous with its cheery blue paint and spritely towers. The current color scheme dates to Queen Elizabeth II’s silver jubilee in 1977. This year is the Diamond Jubilee for her 60th anniversary as Queen.

Not sure when this old barge took residence and kind of ruined the view, if you’re not into old nautical relics, but I already covered the fact that I am, so hang around boat thing.

Our next stop was Borough Market. Traveling with Cecilia is wonderful because she always researches the good food places, whereas nourishment is always secondary to my weird cemetery visits and such. However, after being to Borough Market and other delicious places in London, I am starting to appreciate food tourism. Borough Market has existed in some form for hundreds of years, and is currently housed in buildings designed in 1851.

There was a multitude of food choices, but I went for a grilled cheese at Kappacasein. Or toasted cheese as you would say if you were at Borough Market. It was pretty delicious and I have been wanting another ever since, but now I’m all the way across the ocean, alas.

We then took a walk around the neighborhood and then back to the Thames, to walk to one of my favorite museums where I would meet up with an old friend.

2 thoughts on “London Day 6: Thames and Borough Market

  1. Cecilia says:

    Oh, Allison. I just got back from Chicago, and I’m still thinking about London. I think it’s fast becoming one of my favorite cities the more and more I think about it. I need a Borough Market in KC!

  2. Allie says:

    There needs to be a Borough Market everywhere! Or at least those grilled cheeses. I need to get a raclette grill for my apartment ASAP.

Leave a Reply

