Where Does The Time Go…

I regret that I don’t have time for my personal blog anymore. I want to write here, I want to recap each detail of the all night adventures or just random wanders through an unfamiliar neighborhood, because otherwise they slip away so easily into a blur of motion. But of course, spending all day at a computer basically blogging as a job saps away my energy to type more in WordPress. Nevertheless, I did intend for this New Year to start out with some blogging, although somehow we are already to spring and it is March.

I’ll turn 29 next month, and while it is startling to suddenly be in my “twilight twenties,” it’s also astounding how much has happened in the last decade, and it isn’t even over. I was excited last week to have my first article in the New York Times, something I never thought I’d be able to do. So despite the feelings of exhaustion I sometimes get when crowded into a subway or lugging around a laptop until it feels like it must weigh more than me, things seem to be going better than I could have predicted when I showed up in New York in 2009 with a suitcase and basically little else.

And I want to remember that — the stretch of years that’s brought me here. And I can do that with this blog. So hopefully I will find more time to post, even if perhaps my readers have wandered off with my own attentions…

In the meantime, here are some recent captures of life:

I spend a lot of time waiting for the G train at the 4th Avenue stop in Brooklyn. It’s an outdoor stop which can be both good and bad. In winter you wait against the chill, in summer try to hide from the sun, and there’s always the relief when the train finally creaks up to the platform beneath the clouds.

I’ve gotten really into taking the train up to the Cloisters with its gorgeous medieval art collection. Half the fun is in the walk through Fort Tryon park to get there, where you feel like you are suddenly somewhere that is not Manhattan with its old trees and views to the Palisades across the river. Then the tower of the Cloisters emerges like some French abbey.

On the day I took that Cloisters photograph I also went by St. John the Divine to see Xu Bing’s “Phoenix.” I happened to get there just as Philippe Petit, aka the “Man on Wire” who walked between the Twin Towers, was performing. Because what is both thrilling and kind of terrifying about New York is you can just about see anyone, anytime, anywhere, doing something incredible.

I’ll try to capture more moments here this year. In the meantime, I’ll use this art recently viewed in Sideshow Gallery in Williamsburg as an apology for my disappearance:

Leave a Reply

